7 Deadly Sins: Wrath

20 Dec

Wrath [rath] noun
strong, stern, or fierce anger; deeply resentful indignation;

vengeance or punishment as the consequence of anger

Why Kate Sincerely thinks Wrath’s considered a deadly sin:

I know you know I can write, but did you know I can sing? I bring this up because back when I used to cantor at church, there was this song that went along the lines of “Loving and forgiving are you, Oh Lord. Slow to anger, rich in kindness…” and as I was thinking about my thoughts on wrath, I started thinking about that song. I know as mere mortals we’re all going to make mistakes. We’re going to scold someone for something trivial just because we’re frustrated by something else entirely, or we’ll want to hurt someone just because they hurt us. And though it’s one thing to vent our frustrations, it’s another to seek vengeance. The world may be unfair sometimes, but we all need to be slow to anger and rich in kindness.

Some of my Recent Sins:

Sorry to burst your bubble, but I’m not too guilty of this one. Since this is the last of the “7 Deadly Sins” series I’d love to tell you how I once killed a man just to watch him die, but I’m afraid I won’t literally be going out with a bang. I simply need to work on my patience and keeping my temper a bit more.

. . .

Another series of mine has now come and gone– I hope I don’t catch any wrath for it 😉 When I first started this, I used the following as my introduction:

I used to be fascinated by the 7 Deadly Sins, possibly because my mom used to work for the church and life’s funny like that. The other day I thought about this stationery that I used to have– stationery one of my pen pals said reminded her of the 7 Deadly Sins–  and in addition to wishing I still had it, I got an idea for a new little series via SK.

This series might not have been all that in-depth, but considering how it started you can’t blame a girl for just having fun with it.

The Sinful Set of Stationery (picture found via amazon.com)

The Sinful Set of Stationery (picture found via amazon.com)

All the best to my fellow “sinners” now and always!
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

9 Responses to “7 Deadly Sins: Wrath”

  1. John Halvorson 12/20/2013 at 8:07 am #

    Wrath. So it’s an internal kind of thing….

    I once saw a well-dressed guy at a wedding drop a heavily-iced piece of cake on the floor. His family yelled at him to clean it up. I remember when he came up from getting most of the mess off the linoleum that his whole head was beet-red.

    You hate beets, Kate, so you know what he was like. Maybe that “deeply resentful indignation” was coursing through his veins…or he was on the verge of a heart attack. OR he wasn’t used to cleaning up.

    Marriage didn’t last. NO, smarty-pants, it wasn’t MY wedding.

    Love Dad

  2. Jennwith2ns 12/20/2013 at 8:14 am #

    Question: Do you think the internet fuels wrath? It seems like so many people (myself included sometimes, though I try to rein it in) spend all their time online ranting. And I can certainly say from experience that sometimes just reading the stuff makes my blood boil, though I usually don’t actually comment.

    • Sincerely Kate 12/20/2013 at 9:04 am #

      Oh, I definitely think the internet fuels wrath. I was just reading some article about this whole Phil Robertson thing where all the article said was his suspension wasn’t a violation of his freedom of speech since he’s not facing any legal ramifications.The comments have all sorts of people going on and on about how it wasn’t his place to judge homosexuals or how A&E’s going to lose its following and blah blah blah. I had no interest in commenting, it was just crazy to see how heated it got considering how mild the article was to begin with.

      • Jennwith2ns 12/20/2013 at 10:59 am #

        Exactly my point. I’m contemplating writing my own post about that–but weighing whether or not I really want all that wrath leveled at me!

      • Sincerely Kate 12/20/2013 at 11:02 am #

        Understandable. I think the light-hearted approach would be best, that way people won’t feel so “obliged” to attack the points you make. Best of luck with it if you do decide to post it!

      • Jennwith2ns 12/20/2013 at 12:35 pm #

        Ha! Thanks!

  3. Deborah 12/20/2013 at 8:21 am #

    A nice series! It almost makes one wish for more deadly sins, so it wasn’t quite over. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 12/20/2013 at 9:05 am #

      There will be a new series come the new year. Wink wink, nudge nudge.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sinful Indulgence | Sincerely Kate - 02/03/2014

    […] may have a temper and get into moods, but I didn’t think I was guilty of wrath in December and I don’t think I’m guilty of it now. Compared to Sweeney Todd I’m […]

Leave a Reply

