All I Want for Christmas is His Two Front Teeth

15 Dec

I’m going to take a little break from blogging about one of my favorite things so I can talk about one of my favorite people– Mr. Logan! However, I have been telling my pen pals to keep an eye out for this blog if they have been wondering about his teeth, so it all works out.

Several months ago my husband and I discovered our son’s front teeth were broken and in October they were removed. Fast forward to December 7th when the little guy was back in the chair since it turned out his molars had cavities. I had no idea how problematic baby teeth could be! If/when Gabe and I have another baby I will definitely be doing things differently like weaning him or her off of bottles when they turn one as this should be a rule and not a guideline.

Anyway, the morning of the 7th was a bit rough. Logan couldn’t have anything to eat or drink after midnight so if the early hour didn’t make him ornary enough, not being able to have any milk or juice certainly did…

I am not amused!

I am not amused!

He may have asked for a drink once or twice as we were on our way to Hurley Medical Center, but otherwise he was pretty content as we made our trek to Flint. There were a lot of “Where are we?”s as soon as we got to our destination, and although he wasn’t a fan of having to wear the hospital gown or bracelets, he was still content for the longest time– he got to ride on an elevator, he liked his nurse, and there were two TVs in our room so he got to watch twice the Jake (and the Neverland Pirates) and twice the Sofia (the First).

063

After hanging out in our room for the day for a while, Logan got to go for a ride on his bed over to pre-op. The dentist and nurses all introduced themselves and gave us the impression they genuinely wanted to be there. At this point Logan was starting to get a bit ruffled again since he had to stay on the bed, but between Vincent, the baby on the next bed over, and the stuffed puppy he was given (who he promptly named Butterfly– love it!) he was still doing pretty all right. There was some pouting but there weren’t any tears.

064

There were a lot of tears once Logan woke up from the anesthesia– both his and mine. I know he wasn’t in pain and that, once again, he just didn’t like how the sedation made him feel, but it’s still so hard to see him go through so much without him understanding why he’s going through it and me not really being able to do anything for him. He kicked out his IV, kept getting the thing they were monitoring him with off his toe, and he just wouldn’t calm down. Every time I though he might be settling down he’d start crying all over again. Once he had been monitored long enough, Logan and I got to head from the recovery room back to our room for the day where his dad was waiting for us. He was still upset for quite some time, refusing to have any water, juice, or popsicles, but eventually he did manage to doze off and once he woke up he downed half of his dad’s ginger ale. We got to leave soon after.

065

On the way home, roughly 9 hours after we arrived that morning, the Loganator would nod in and out. He really wanted McDonalds so, being the sympathetic parents who wanted to win back our son’s favor that we were, we obliged and he DEMOLISHED his fries and nuggets in record time. I thought for sure he would pass out when we got home, but he was content watching even more Jake cuddled up against me (as I was passed out). Around 6pm we decided we would take him over to see my in-laws… only for him to climb on their big recliner with Butterfly and not climb back off of it– that light was out!

066

It has been a little over a week since that day, and although he was still a bit groggy the following morning he is back to his normal self who is excited for Christmas. He hasn’t showed any signs of discomfort, but he continues to show Butterfly some lovin’, both at home and when he goes to his grandparents’.

There’s a thing on WordPress called “A Moment in Time” where a group of bloggers share their experiences from certain times on certain days, the current moment in time being 6:58 p.m. on 12/14/13. 6:58 was the moment when Gabe got up to get batteries for Logan’s LeapPad because for the past few days it has been used for a lot of Flingo via Pet Pad and ship building via his Jake and the Neverland Pirates cartridge game. While Gabe was fetching the AA’s I asked Logan what he wanted for Christmas and apparently he ‘s going to need even more batteries for the LeapPad. There’s nothing wrong with that kid’s cognitive development.

With any luck, from now on Logan’s just going to have to go in for check-ups at six month intervals. Aside from wishing he still had his front teeth, I think it’s safe to say that’s what all three of us want the most right now!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

9 Responses to “All I Want for Christmas is His Two Front Teeth”

  1. cupitonians 12/15/2013 at 8:39 am #

    I hate dentists and I’m an adult. Logan is really brave. Plus, SO adorable.

    • Sincerely Kate 12/15/2013 at 8:41 am #

      Ugh, I hate the dentist too. I’m hoping that because he’s so little he’ll forget all about this and won’t have PTSD or something whenever he gets in the chair from now on.

  2. Simona 12/15/2013 at 8:41 am #

    So happy Logan is ok now 🙂 hugs for him!!!

  3. randee 12/15/2013 at 12:43 pm #

    That is a lot for a little one to go through and, like you said, you can’t explain it to him. How old is Logan? Thanks for participating in A Moment in Time. I hope to see you again!

    • Sincerely Kate 12/15/2013 at 12:45 pm #

      Logan will be 3 in January so with any luck he’ll forget all about this whole ordeal– I know I’d like to! I’ll be sure to keep a look out for other moments as they arise 😉

      • randee 12/15/2013 at 1:36 pm #

        Okay, it’s usually every few days.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To Whom it May Concern | Sincerely Kate - 08/20/2014

    […] Yesterday was that consultation, and while it was confirmed that the ball is a bit high up, the surgeon didn’t see any reason to go in there to move it. THANK GOODNESS! I can’t tell you how relieved Gabe and I are. Not only do we not have the resources to cover what our insurance wouldn’t have, our 3.5-year-old son has already been through so much. […]

Leave a Reply

