Pen Pal of the Month- December

10 Dec

retiredMy 12th and final Pen Pal of the Month is Simona from Italy! Crowning her December’s PPOTM was an easy decision– not only did I get her letter on the 5th, it included this:

You give a big importance to your friend every month– great idea. I enjoy reading about them.

As you can imagine, Simona was very excited when I told her the news!

SK: How do you feel about being pen pal of the month?

Simona: As I wrote you in the last letter, you make a person feel special and important by being pen pal of the month. Thanks for it! Never thought to be.

SK: When and why did you get into pen palling?

Simona: I had a pen pal years ago (when I was 8 yrs) but I don’t remember anything about her… So I can say you are my first real pen pal. I just found a few groups on FB and thought it would be great to find new friends and improve my English.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about pen palling?

Simona: I love to wait for letters, to write (wish I had more time for it)… It’s so much fun to see peoples faces when you say “I write letters” to them. Do you mean email letters? No, I write and send it by mail. Why? By email is faster… Letters written by hand on paper– what can be better? Seems it’s a bit old fashioned.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about having me as your pen pal?

Simona: I like the way you write, how you express yourself. That’s what I’d like to learn from you. You are sincere, nice. Even if I’ve got just few letters from you, seems we’re old friends.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about December?

Simona: I love the atmosphere before Christmas, all the lights in town… When I lived in Lithuania there was lots of snow in this period. Unfortunately, here in Italy it’s a rare thing.

SK: What do you want more than anything this Christmas?

Simona: I asked Santa for a sewing-embroidery machine– I want it so badly!! I could do nice things with it.

SK: What are you looking forward to next year?

Simona: Next year I MUST get my driving license. To be happy, to get my English better, and to visit some new places.

I hope Simona enjoys the goodies I’ll be sending her as much as I have enjoyed hearing from her over the past few months, and I hope you, dear bleader(s), have enjoyed this series!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

2 Responses to “Pen Pal of the Month- December”

  1. Aussa Lorens 12/10/2013 at 4:55 pm #

    Aw, love these, as always! Having a pen pal is definitely a good way to work on learning a new language… she seems super sweet.

    • Sincerely Kate 12/10/2013 at 5:07 pm #

      That she is! When I first started pen palling I only wanted pen pals from the US, and though that’s still my main preference, I have found it especially rewarding talking to international women.

Leave a Reply

