Archive | 9:07 am

7 Deadly Sins: Pride

20 Oct

Pride [prayhd] noun
a high or inordinate opinion of one’s own dignity,
importance, merit, or superiority, 
whether as cherished in
the mind or as displayed in bearing, conduct, etc.

Why Kate Sincerely thinks Pride’s considered a deadly sin:

We’re all familiar with the sentiment “the first step to solving any problem is to admit that there is one”, and though we all heard that, we still keep our problems buried. We say things like how we don’t want to burden people with our issues, but a lot of the time that’s just a cover we use when we’re embarrassed of the cards we’ve been dealt.

Some of my Recent Sins:

Gabe and I seem to have money problems every other month; it’s like when we do get caught up another expense comes along. Most recently: both vehicles not wanting to start. Although we could really use some a lot of help getting caught up again, I haven’t really asked anyone since I feel like I’m always asking. This may or may not really be the case, but my pride makes me think otherwise.

Mr. Logan that Monday evening

Mr. Logan that Monday evening

On the 14TH our son had to have two of his teeth taken out because they were broken. I kept this off my facebook (or tried to) because I didn’t want to be asked a lot of questions or look like I’m a bad mother. My family knew about it and I vented to a few pen pals, but that was all my pride could handle. And though I’m sharing this now, I still would appreciate not being questioned about this. All you need to know is that the problem teeth were removed, Logan wasn’t happy that morning but has been fine ever since, and I still feel like a bad mother but with any luck I’ll look back on this time and be proud of what we did for the little guy.

It’s possible that I cried a little as I wrote this; it’s been a tough week for me in the pride department! If you’re struggling with something, you really should confide in someone. They may not make your problem go away, but you might feel somewhat better. If you really want to take pride in yourself, take care of yourself.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~