Pen Pal of the Month- October

10 Oct

retiredI first started talking to Kära over three years ago. Although our interests and hobbies were quite different I was drawn to her… likely because we both consider ourselves socially awkward and therefore express ourselves better on paper. I have mentioned her Sims-friendly blog on here before, but what you might not know is that Kära was my #1 motivator for starting a blog of my own since I enjoyed reading hers as long as I have been reading her letters. As you’ll see in the response to the very first question, Kära wasn’t too excited about me acknowledging her here, but it only seemed right that I did so now that an opportunity presented itself :-). So without further delay…

SK: How do you feel about being pen pal of the month?

Kära: Shy. I don’t like being in the spotlight, lol. But it’s an honor, of course.

SK: When and why did you get into pen palling?

Kära: Oh geez. It was in elementary school. My parents signed me up for a USPS match-up for kids. I was matched with a girl from Iowa, Jenny. We wrote to each other for a long time, and she came out to stay with me in Massachusetts one summer. We are no longer in touch, but I’ve had pen pals on and off since then.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about pen palling?

Kära: Writing as a form of communication. I’m kind of awkward socially- I’m shy and talk too fast and stumble over my words. I far prefer writing. Also…who doesn’t like getting mail?

SK: What’s your favorite thing about having me as your pen pal?

Kära: You are very understanding when it comes to my writing style…. extremely long typed letters that don’t come all that often. I try my best, but I have far too many hobbies, lol. Also, you ask a lot of questions making it easy to carry on a conversation.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about October?

Kära: October is my FAVORITE month. Next year, I’m getting married in October! I love cool weather, I love leaves changing, I love pumpkins, apples, cinnamon, fall decorations…all of it. It’s such an awesome time of year!

SK: What are you looking forward to this month? This year?

Kära: This month? Pretty much everything I just mentioned in the last question…the arrival of fall! This year? Well, there isn’t much left to it, but it’s going to be awesome. First it’s October with all its awesomeness, then I have a Maine Trip in November! Woohoo!!! Then it’s Christmas…I freaking love Christmas.

SK: What, if anything, do you have planned for Halloween?

Kära: I don’t have kids yet, so no trick-or-treating for me, but I get to hand out candy. Since I live in a nice neighborhood in a city, I get LOTS of trick-or-treaters. I love handing out candy (where I grew up we didn’t get any trick-or-treaters…seriously…my parents drive me 20 minutes to a mall, lol). Also, we have a small halloween party to go to before that…I’m not a party person, but it’s with only a few friends and we do it every year.

Kära obviously has a lot of reasons to love October and with any luck this recognition is another thing on that list. I may not hear from her as often as I’d like to, and I unfortunately didn’t get to meet her over the summer like I/we wanted, but I’m happy that she takes our friendship so seriously and writes me when she can. I hope the letter I’ll be responding to shortly (and the enclosed prizes and whatnot!) find her well. And if you’re interested, you can find her at her other blog, too (Note: in her awesome header, one of the things on the cat’s to do list is “Write to Kate”, hehe).

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “Pen Pal of the Month- October”

  1. opicana 10/10/2013 at 9:11 am #

    Aww…in addition to this being an honor, it’s an honor to know I was your #1 inspiration for starting a blog. And a fantastic blog it is at that. 🙂 Maybe next summer!

  2. Deborah 10/10/2013 at 9:15 am #

    That is so cool! I went to her blog to see “Write to Kate.” Took me a minute, but I found it! haha 🙂

  3. Deborah 10/19/2013 at 8:17 am #

    I would like to nominate you for the Best Moment Award. Please go to http://myriad234.wordpress.com/2013/10/19/best-moment-award/ for details. I hope you can accept. 🙂

Leave a Reply

