7 Deadly Sins: Lust

20 Sep

Lust [luhst] noun
intense sexual desire or appetite;
a passionate or overmastering desire or craving

Why Kate Sincerely thinks Lust’s considered a deadly sin:

I cringe whenever I’m watching something and teenagers who barely know each other “declare their love”. I don’t believe in love at first sight, I believe it’s merely an infatuation. And while I don’t think infatuation is wrong, lust gets into a gray area. People give themselves to someone they likely won’t talk to in a week, or marry someone because the sex is good but leave them the second the going gets rough. I’m not saying I was a saint– the math between my wedding day and Logan’s birthday is proof that I wasn’t– but it took me a while to admit I genuinely loved Gabe and that it wasn’t just lust. I think more people should take the time to learn the difference; the divorce rate might be lower if they did.

Some One of my Recent Sins:

Honestly I don’t commit this one too often, and if I do it’s been a lust for power and not for sex, haha. (The joys of having a toddler!) Anyway! Right now we’re about three weeks into another go at September Sweeps in the FB group I have for my pen pals, and just like last year I have been recording all the activity as if it’s my job, believing that if I miss one someone will call shenanigans. Yeah, it doesn’t really fit the “lust” description, but that’s the only current example I have.

1The picture on the left is one of me and my husband before we were much of anything. It was more than lust, but nevertheless!

The other night I finished a book, and while picking out what to read next I decided to start the Seven Deadly Sins series by Robin Wasserman because the first sin she tackles is Lust. Awesome timing, eh?

Sincerely, Kate ~!~
PS: My next book review will likely be posted early October 😉
PPS: Sins still to come: Pride, Sloth, and Wrath

2 Responses to “7 Deadly Sins: Lust”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fall Into a Book | Sincerely Kate - 10/05/2013

    […] I had other stuff I wanted to read. I was between books right around the time I posted my last Seven Deadly Sins blog, and since that and Wasserman’s first book were both revolving around lust I took that as a […]

  2. Sinful Indulgence | Sincerely Kate - 02/03/2014

    […] I said in this post, I don’t commit this sin too much between being in a monogamous relationship and having a […]

Leave a Reply

