Pen Pal of the Month- September

10 Sep
Sophie of England

Sophie of England

Originally when I decided to do this PPOTM thing I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to include my three international pen pals because of the little prizes I send each of the winners. However, when I raided the list of people I heard from last month who had yet to win the honor, I decided to include Sophie’s name in the little drawing I had. In a perfect world I would have used someone I heard from this month, but I’m glad my English friend won and it sounds like she is, too.

SK: How do you feel about being pen pal of the month?

Sophie: It’s very sweet to be pen-pal of the month! I feel quite touched that I am. Never have been before, since I tend to take a bit of time to reply, sometimes, so, I thank you.

SK: When and why did you get into pen palling?

Sophie: I first got into pen-palling in 1997, when I was 10. I thought it would be a great, and fun way to get to learn about other countries, their cultures, and see how different they are to British culture. Also, should any of them ever wish to come to England, they’d at least have the option to have the guest room at my house, if they wanted to visit Birmingham in order to visit Stratford – upon – Avon (Shakespeare town), and I could advise them on all the lovely places to visit.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about pen palling?

Sophie: My favourite thing about pen-palling would have to be knowing that someone has gone to the effort of hand writing a letter, as have I. Hand written letters are such a rarity these days, with all the technological advancements, so it’s nice to keep that tradition going.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about having me as your pen pal?

Sophie: My favourite thing about having you as a pen-pal would be that you put lots of effort into your letters. They’re always gorgeously presented, long, and fun. Plus, you ask some really cool, thought provoking questions. Not to mention, that you weren’t judgemental when I discussed a certain relationship situation to you.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about September?

Sophie: My favourite thing about September would have to be the approaching Autumn. Autumn is a beautiful month. I love seeing the streets lined with the golds and reds from the trees, makes for excellent photo opportunities. Also, the start of the new term at school. Everyone’s excited about the forthcoming new semester.

SK: What are you looking forward to this month? This year?

Sophie: This month I am looking forward to starting college, and getting into studying again, I’ve missed it terribly, so it’s really exciting. The rest of this year is always quite exciting. September, we have the new term. October, we have Halloween (which I adore). November, we have Guy Fawkes Night (otherwise known as Bonfire Night) where we have celebrations with a huge bonfire and fireworks. Definitely my favourite holiday, after Christmas. Then December, the preparations for Christmas. That time of year is so exciting, and everyone’s in such a cheery mood.

SK: What other hobbies do you enjoy?

Sophie: Other hobbies that I enjoy are reading, watching movies, swimming, badminton, and typical girly things like shopping, hair, make-up, etc.

Although I don’t hear from Sophie as much as I’d like to, it’s always really good to hear from her. Her letters have been affirmation that I made a good decision in bending my USA only rule, and now her being my newest PPOTM is validated as well.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

Leave a Reply

