7 Deadly Sins: Greed

20 Aug

Greed [greed] noun
excessive or rapacious desire,
especially for wealth or possessions.

Why Kate Sincerely thinks Greed’s considered a deadly sin:

In my original 7 Deadly Sins post I said that our wants are insatiable. I know I can’t go to Staples without looking at the stationery and I’m sure everyone has a place or thing just like that. Whether it’s as small as a DVD in the $5 bin at WalMart or as extravagant as wanting an extra 0 on every paycheck, everyone is guilty of being greedy despite what they’ve already been given. And I mean EVERYONE.

Some of my recent sins:

First of all, I did get a package of stationery the last time I was at Staples. Other things I acquired this summer include a date stamp, materials to make my own postcards, and Les Miserables on blu-ray.

Something else I’ve been acquiring this summer: a postcard from every state to send to my postcard pen pal in Ireland. You may be thinking that that’s the opposite of being greedy, but I have asked family, pen pals, strangers, and even my ex’s sister for help in finding all 50. Only a handful more to go!

I became obsessed with the show Whodunnit recently. I suppose it was greedy of me to not want to wait between episodes to find out what happened next. I also made myself a Twitter account mainly so I could see all The Killer’s tweets because I couldn’t get enough of the “#evillaugher” on Monday mornings. Here’s the kicker… despite me never having an interest in tweeting before, I can’t help but wish I had more followers. (*wink wink* *nudge nudge*)

I could list more examples, but to that I say, “don’t be greedy!” I shall leave you with a picture of all the postcards that I have waiting to be sent off to pen pals or postcrossers, haha:014

And now you can tell me not to be greedy, haha.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “7 Deadly Sins: Greed”

  1. dawn060861 08/20/2013 at 8:54 am #

    Hi , great post, is wanting something greed? We are all guilty of greed I think it is our make up but we all have different opinions of what greeds is. I am a greedy person and I am overweight because of it, I do want things but don’t consider myself greedy because of it. I consider it frivilous to go to Hobbycraft and buy pretty papers or glitters or a stamp just because I like the look of it but not greedy. I love the postcard idea by the way and good luck with finding them all x Dawn

    • Sincerely Kate 08/20/2013 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂 Wanting something alone is not greed, but when you think of all the scrapbooking stuff you already have, for example, wanting even more is when it becomes a bit on the greedy side, in my opinion.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sinful Indulgence | Sincerely Kate - 02/03/2014

    […] first time I wrote about greed I mucked it up a bit. Someone commented “Is wanting something greed? I do want things but I […]

Leave a Reply

