Christmas in July

25 Jul

Normally I don’t buy into the “Christmas in July” hype, but after Secret Santa was the success it was in December I thought it would be a good opportunity for a mid-year exchange.

December’s Swaps:
Not pictured: Kära’s gift

3 of the 4 people from last time all were up for participating again along with 2 others. On the 15th of June they began to send me their wishlists and a week later I assigned each Santa their match. You may be wondering how I go about this. Well for starters, I posted this in my pen pal group:

Christmas may not be right around the corner but I for one would like to make like it is. 4, kind of 6, of you have shown interest in a Christmas in July Secret Santa as well so here is your chance to sign up for it! Do NOT comment on this post; send me a private message, and when you send it give me 3 ideas of things you’d like (keep in mind that no one should pay more than $10). For example I would ask for novelty postcards, ‘Alice in Wonderland’ merchandise, &/or a used copy of a favorite book. You have until next Saturday to PM me your list, and once I send them you’ll have about a month to get/send your person her gift (It’d be nice for everyone to get their gifts by the 25th of July). To sign up or ask questions PM ME!

Using the lists and what I know of my pen pals I gave each “Santa” the list they could have the most fun with, though I tried to avoid giving those who participated before someone they already got.  In addition to the lists I gave the ladies the address they needed and told them to strive to send their gifts so they’d arrive on or around the 25th… AKA today!

Here are what some of my pen pals recently received:

And here is what three of my pen pals surprised ME with:

012

Thanks to everyone who participated and to everyone else, Merry “Christmas”!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “Christmas in July”

  1. dawn060861 07/26/2013 at 4:16 am #

    Hi, Just found your blog and love it, I too did a Christmas in July post, I like to get ahead and be organised for the big day x Dawn

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas in July ’13 | Sincerely Kate - 07/25/2014

    […] like with the swap I organized last July, I decided that the Christmas in July concept is the perfect excuse to host an exchange among my […]

  2. Secret Santa and the Mail Lady | Sincerely Kate - 07/25/2015

    […] 25th: Over the past few years, July 25th has been when I’ve done Christmas in July posts (Exhibit A and Exhibit B), and so I wanted to share some pictures from my annual Secret Santa swap once […]

Leave a Reply

