Book Review: The Infernal Devices Trilogy

25 Jun

I first heard about The Infernal Devices trilogy from my friend Nicole earlier this year as she anxiously awaited the release of Clockwork Princess in March. She told me a little about the three characters to grace each of the covers, and closed with this:

There are also downworlders in the book. Downworlders are warlocks, fairies, vampires, etc. -not all of them are bad guys, though. The Shadowhunters also have to face clockwork type monsters created by someone who wants to destroy them. There’s plenty of action/suspense, a love triangle even more involved than Stefan/Damon/Elena, and other characters you learn to love as well.

I was intrigued then, but it wasn’t until I started reading so much that I actually decided to read Clockwork Angel, the first installment of Cassandra Clare’s trilogy. Afterall, Nicole introduced  me to Veronica Mars, The Vampire Diaries, and other things I now enjoy.

Book Review: Clockwork Angel

As I read the prologue and the first chapter I thought Clockwork Angel would take me some time to get through- I couldn’t see myself reading more than a chapter a day. However, a few chapters later I was hooked and was halfway through Clare’s book in a few short days. I was intrigued by Tessa’s shape-shifting ability and the repartee between Will and Jem (e.g. “Never trust a duck.”)

Nicole’s description, as well as Clockwork Angel‘s cover, more than implied there was a love triangle between Tessa and two shadowhunters- Will and Jem- who also happen to be the best of friends. Though there were several sweet moments between Tessa and Jem I didn’t think there was much of a spark there… at least when they weren’t fighting off clockwork creations ;-). I think if I knew a Will in real life he would annoy me immensely, but the story would have been rather dull without him, and he’s the main reason I will read the next installment of The Infernal Devices trilogy. Other reasons include: to see if they kill off Nate, find out how Mortmain (spoiler alert) is able to be the great and powerful magister, and seeing what becomes of Charlotte, Henry, and the Institute.

Book Review: Clockwork Prince

It’s funny; I started reading Clockwork Prince wanting to know what was going to happen between Will and Tessa, but before I was even two chapters in I was thinking “so there’s the spark between Jem and Tessa.” I also was thinking that I liked it. Very much. I still like Will and I like reading about his feelings for Tessa, and if I were that girl I would have been torn, too. It was a peculiar feeling being excited for Jem as his relationship progressed yet heartbroken for Will as his hope to be with her unraveled.

I know this blog is an outlet for me to write about whatever I want/ whatever I’m thinking, but when it comes to these book reviews I don’t want to say too much should I happen to inspire anyone to read anything. So let’s just say I’m pleased with what became of Nate, I now know Mortmain’s motives but not how he’s capable of being so powerful, and I think Charlotte and Henry are adorable and deserve what happened as Clockwork Prince came to a close; I can only hope they’re just as well, if not better, in Clockwork Princess.

Book Review: Clockwork Princess

I think Clockwork Princess has been my favorite book of the trilogy; There was adventure, death, romance, and even some foreplay ;-). I liked what became of the villain and his infernal devices and how it transpired, and I like that another character who annoyed me immensely got what was coming to him, too. More than anything though, I like how Tessa was able to be with both Will and Jem in a way that (spoiler alert) didn’t make it feel like she was ever choosing one over the other. She loved them equally and wound up spending an equal time with both of them, Jem’s turn coming much later for reasons you’d have to read. I wish there would have been more to their relationship than there was in the epilogue, and that there would have been more about the other shadowhunters’ “ever afters” other than them all getting married and popping out babies… not that there’s anything wrong with that, haha.

I would recommend these books and I’m glad Nicole recommended them to me. After all the Twilight hype I was BURNT OUT on supernatural romances, but these books exceeded my expectations. Cassandra Clare is also responsible for The Mortal Instruments series so I’m hoping to read those over the summer and then convince Gabe to take me to see City of Bones, the first installment, when it’s in theaters this August.

Ave atque vale! (“Hail and farewell!”)
Sincerely, Kate ~!~

5 Responses to “Book Review: The Infernal Devices Trilogy”

  1. Allison 06/25/2013 at 2:34 pm #

    Officially added to my reading list. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 06/25/2013 at 3:23 pm #

      Awesome! Glad I could inspire someone to read ’em 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Summer Reading List | Sincerely Kate - 08/05/2013

    […] Cassandra Clare. Prior to reading the books you’re reading about in this blog, I read The Infernal Devices trilogy, also by Clare. Though that series is a completely separate story from this book, it was a prequel […]

  2. Fall Into a Book | Sincerely Kate - 10/05/2013

    […] the former was a bad book, it just didn’t live up to the expectations I had after reading The Infernal Devices Trilogy. Those feelings aside I wanted to see the movie anyway. Sure, it was pretty different from the […]

  3. Out With the Old… | Sincerely Kate - 12/30/2013

    […] Book Review: The Infernal Devices Trilogy […]

Leave a Reply

