7 Deadly Sins: Envy

20 Jun

I used to be fascinated by the 7 Deadly Sins, possibly because my mom used to work for the church and life’s funny like that. The other day I thought about this stationery that I used to have- stationery one of my pen pals said reminded her of the 7 Deadly Sins-  and in addition to wishing I still had it, I got an idea for a new little series via SK. Just like how PPOTM is reserved for the 10th of every month, for the duration of the year you can expect to see something pertaining to the 7 Deadly Sins via this blog on the 20th of each month.

Envy [en-vee] noun
a feeling of discontent or covetousness with regard to
another’s advantages, success, possessions, etc.

Why Kate Sincerely thinks Envy’s considered a deadly sin:

Too often we want what we can’t have, especially when we see someone we know have that very thing. Instead of being grateful for what we were fortunate to be given, we envy those who have gotten more. Our wants are insatiable.

Some of my Recent Sins:

I always coveted my Taiwan pen pal’s stationery and even though my mom found me multiple kinds over in Taiwan just like it, I keep encouraging my mom to find more. It’s lined after all!

Justine is constantly making her own envelopes. Not only do I wish I was half as good at making them, I flat out just want to reuse her envelopes most of the time since they’re so nice looking. I guess in addition to wanting to be good at making them I flat out want her supplies.

Allison moved to New York earlier this year and I envy how close she is to things like Broadway and picturesque views worthy of postcards.

I have never been interested in the Sims before, but Kära’s “challenges” make me wish that I was since she doesn’t just play the game; she comes up with ideas whether it’s a Bachelor spin-off or a man who dumpster dives to live (yet lives to dumpster dive) and then writes about the experiences. I envy her creativity.

And my most recent moment of weakness: Envying Nicole and her mother for getting this puppy!

retired

There are definitely more than 5 times that I have envied someone, and I’m sure that by this time next week there will be even more. Feel free to share some of your own sinful behavior and we’ll indulge in Gluttony next time 😀

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

10 Responses to “7 Deadly Sins: Envy”

  1. Allison 06/20/2013 at 10:09 am #

    Puppy! For the record, I always read these blog posts even when I don’t leave a comment. And if it makes you feel any better, I haven’t actually had the money to get to a Broadway show yet. Hopefully soon!

    • Sincerely Kate 06/20/2013 at 10:12 am #

      I’m glad to hear you read all my blogs, not so glad to hear about Broadway! What show is first on your list? 😀

  2. nicole 06/20/2013 at 12:40 pm #

    I know i said i would read this after work, but im on break and was really looking forward to your kickoff of this sins series, so i read it now! Excellent! Looking forward to gluttony, as I currently just inhaled two rice krispy bars, lol!

  3. opicana 06/25/2013 at 2:32 pm #

    Aww….I’m taking your envy of my creativity as a huge compliment, so thanks! I envy everyone who is employed at the moment. I also envy people my age, or younger (glances at Kate) who have children. I just turned 30, and I plan on having kids, but its not the right time just yet, and it’s making feel old.

    • Sincerely Kate 06/25/2013 at 3:28 pm #

      Typical, isn’t it? The people who are sensible and would make really good mothers are the ones who know when it’s a good time to have children, even if it’s not favorable. I know having a child would be a bit of a struggle, but if that child is loved half as much as you love each of your cats he/she will be the envy of all their peers 🙂

  4. sbeckert84 06/26/2013 at 6:55 pm #

    I also was interested in the 7 and I wrote about how they affected my life. How and how I took to understanding them maybe I will copy it from my journal. If I run out of things to write about I have a list going. Thanks for the heads up on the site I love it. I love reading everything you write and aside from my dream of being published I look to find you book in the bookstore someday. ❤

    • Sincerely Kate 06/26/2013 at 8:08 pm #

      I’ll be sure to sign your copy, haha. Do you plan on having some sort of theme for your blog or is it going to be about anything and everything? 🙂

  5. Carl D'Agostino 07/07/2013 at 10:17 am #

    People rarely use envy and jealousy correctly.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Deadly Sins: Greed | Sincerely Kate - 08/20/2013

    […] my original 7 Deadly Sins post I said that our wants are insatiable. I know I can’t go to Staples without looking at the […]

  2. Sinful Indulgence | Sincerely Kate - 02/03/2014

    […] I first wrote about this sin I said I was envious of Justine’s ability to make quality envelopes and Kära’s […]

Leave a Reply

