Book Review: The Help

5 Jun

I have read a few books since finishing the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy- Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare and The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I’ll be writing about the former two once I have finished the third book in The Infernal Devices trilogy- something I was surprised I didn’t accomplish long before I was done with The Help.

It wasn’t that I didn’t like the story or that I didn’t feel for Aibileen as she was expected to raise her boss’s daughter but to not touch the toilets in the house unless she was cleaning them, but the way those first few chapters were written gave me a headache. A week went by before I made it past the chapters narrated by Aibileen, a southern black woman in 1962 who knew she’d always be a maid and didn’t amount to much else.

My pen pal Justine spoke highly of The Help in a recent letter, my reason for getting it, and I didn’t want to have bought it in vain so I pressed on. And I’m glad I did. When I read Minny’s first chapter I was so relieved it wasn’t written the way Aibileen talked, and Skeeter’s chapters were even better yet. Once I realized Aibileen didn’t narrate the whole book and her chapters were spread out I found it a lot easier to get through the whole thing, reading over 300 pages in a couple days. Want to hear the kicker? Aibileen has been my favorite character.

I love that though each person is telling her story the three of them all intertwine. Although the “villian” Hilly’s opinions are clearly expressed through all three perspectives part of me would have liked to read a chapter or two from hers. It was weird to hear how tenacious she was to anyone who so much as looked at her cross yet how loving of a mother she was to her kids.

I was happy that The Help didn’t stop when Help, the book within the book, was finished but showed the aftermath with Hilly reeking her havoc and whatnot. I would have liked to read what happened to Skeeter once she left Jackson, what happened to Minny once she left her abusive husband, and what happened to Aibileen after she left her job against her will. Wherever they wound up though, whatever they wound up doing, I’m confident they were better off. And all it took was a little help from each other!

I know when I write someone a letter it’s not a life changing event, but I know when something is pissing me off it’s a comfort having something to pour my frustrations into, and I strive to be empathetic towards all my pen pals because I know they feel the need to vent sometimes, too. I’m sure it’s not the same for all us letter writers, but when I complain I’m rarely asking for advice or opinions, it’s just good to get those thoughts out of my system. So to everyone who reads my letters or the blogs I write like my last one, thanks for your help 😉

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

4 Responses to “Book Review: The Help”

  1. bessieviola 06/05/2013 at 9:34 am #

    I loved The Help too! I agree about Abileen’s “voice” in the book – it was hard to read at first, but I was able to look past it once I got sucked into the story. Have you seen the movie yet? It’s actually very nearly as good as the book, and I don’t say that about books-turned-movies very often!
    (By the way, HI! Glad you posted this to FB!)

    • Sincerely Kate 06/05/2013 at 10:03 am #

      I haven’t seen the movie but I’m hoping to change that soon. Thanks for checking out my blog 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fall Into a Book | Sincerely Kate - 10/05/2013

    […] sister narrated. This book may have been written for teenagers, but as someone who read and liked The Help, this adult liked seeing another book narrated by more than one person. My favorite of the sisters […]

  2. Out With the Old… | Sincerely Kate - 12/30/2013

    […] Book Review: The Help […]

Leave a Reply

