Book Review: Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed

20 May

Note: These books are the 2nd and 3rd installments in the trilogy written by E.L. James. You can find my book review for the original novel, Fifty Shades of Grey, here.

Another note: I finished these books several weeks ago but this is the first opportunity I had to write about it 😛

Book Review: Fifty Shades Darker

It took me less than a week to read James’ first book, and in even less time I read the one after that. Fifty Shades Darker was still full of erotica, but not in a way that made me feel uncomfortable; it felt more like an X-rated Nicholas Sparks novel. This story wasn’t about a dominant recruiting a submissive, but a man who fell in love with a woman and she with him, but his tawdry past kept coming back to haunt them.

Although I had mixed feelings about Fifty Shades of Grey when I read it, I appreciate it more now as though it was a necessary precursor. As Christian and Ana take the next step in their relationship, the reader can see how far they came since she fell into his office all those pages ago. I was happy to read that their relationship was stronger than ever as Fifty Shades Darker came to a close, but how the book actually ended- with someone plotting his (second attempt at) revenge- only made me happy I already acquired Fifty Shades Free so I could read what happens next.

Book Review: Fifty Shades Freed

I don’t want to say too much in case anyone has yet to read it, but the first few chapters as well as the epilogue warmed my heart- I love Christian and Ana’s relationship, even when he’s being a dictator and she stubborn. It was their love for each other, however strange at times, that kept me reading when parts of the novel, mainly the parts regarding Kate and Elliott’s relationship, seemed rather dull. It sounds like everyone got a happy ending… at least for now.

It’s official. I’m on the bandwagon and I would recommend this series- don’t be discouraged by the dom/sub stuff, it’s only heavy handed in the first book. Though Fifty Shades of Grey made me uncomfortable at times, now that I have read and liked the following installments I can see me reading ’em all again.

I’m sure it’s because she’s the narrator that my favorite character is Ana. My favorite book was Fifty Shades Darker though my favorite moment was in Fifty Shades Freed when Christian gave Ana a charm bracelet for his birthday, probably since I’ve wanted one for like the past decade. I’ll have to pass that idea along to that husband of mine…

And you should pass your book recommendations onto me! Thanks for reading!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

One Response to “Book Review: Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Out With the Old… | Sincerely Kate - 12/30/2013

    […] Book Review: Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed […]

Leave a Reply

