A Potential Postcrossing Petition

30 Apr

At the very beginning of the month Gabe and I decided to join the majority of civilization and upgrade to smart phones. I quickly grew fond of my Optimus G and over the past few weeks I have become even more attached now that it’s my only source of internet at home. Although I’d never want to write a blog on my phone, I love that there is a wordpress app along with the other coinciding apps for all my regular pages.

Well, almost all of them.

Postcrossing.com is the one site of mine I check often that doesn’t have a matching app and I believe that it should. It wouldn’t have to do everything the actual site does, I’d be content if you could just request addresses and register the cards you receive. I like the idea of opening the app, taking a picture of the card I want to register, and it then asking for the ID and providing space for an optional message. If you don’t have the slightest idea of what I’m talking about, feel free to check out this earlier blog of mine for more details about Postcrossing.

When I asked my pen pals if they too felt there should be a postcrossing app, both Justine and Kimberlee shared their opinions:

It would be nice to have an app, even though I don’t send out as many as I used to. But when I get a postcard it will get tossed in my bag and sometimes I forget about it until I get to work. I rarely use my laptop at home anymore. –Justine

An app is nice but I like a computer for some things -Kimberlee

Like Kim, I prefer using a computer too, but alas I don’t have unlimited access to mine anymore. At least for now. That said…

I don’t know if the people for Postcrossing are already working on an app, but if they aren’t they should be. If you agree with me and Justine then post your name in the comments below. I’ll be posting the link to this particular blog on my postcrossing page and maybe I’ll send it along to the team via postcrossing.com too. Wish me and my fellow postcrossers luck!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

P.S. Speaking of petitions, my pen pal Allison brought this one to my attention regarding mail delivery still occurring on Saturdays. Check it out for more details.

One Response to “A Potential Postcrossing Petition”

  1. Anonymous 04/30/2013 at 3:20 pm #

    I completely agree!

Leave a Reply

