Pen Pal of the Month- April

10 Apr
Allison of New York

Allison of New York

On April 1st the pen pal I’ve been writing to the longest had a birthday, and while Allison got another year older, I got her letter! Rather serendipitous? I think so!

SK: How do you feel about being pen pal of the month? Allison: It’s so much better than that time I won a Nobel prize and a Grammy in the same weekend.

SK: When and why did you get into pen palling? Allison: I had my first pen pal when I was around five years old, but that doesn’t exactly count as when I got into it. I started really pen paling when I was around 13 or 14 and I saw a magazine where a bunch of kids and teenagers had sent in pen pal ads. I picked one or two to write to, and then I sent in my own ad and got roughly 2 million responses. I have not been without a pen pal since.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about pen palling? Allison: It’s pretty awesome to make real connections with people who you otherwise would never have had the chance to meet.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about having me as your pen pal? Allison: You give so much of yourself to your friends and pen pals. You remember the little details about my life and are interested in them.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about April? Allison: SPRING! 😀

SK: How was your birthday? Allison: Small – since I’m now living in a place where I barely know anyone, a party would have been difficult. But also lovely in that David cooked me a super fancy dinner.

SK: What are you looking forward to this month? Allison: In just a few days, one of my best friends is driving down from Maine and taking me to see Neil Gaiman and Amanda Palmer as a birthday present!

It’s been an absolute pleasure writing Allison since December of 2005, and I’m looking forward to many more letters from her and the rest of my pen pals. Much love to you all! Sincerely, Kate ~!~

5 Responses to “Pen Pal of the Month- April”

  1. Deborah 04/10/2013 at 11:18 am #

    I love her sense of humor! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Resolutions Revisited | Sincerely Kate - 06/30/2013

    […] to the 6th power. Kayla, Jody, Sadie, Allison, Justine, and Casey have all been Pen Pal of the Month […]

  2. Out With the Old… | Sincerely Kate - 12/30/2013

    […] Start a Pen Pal of the Month series. Check to the 6th power. Kayla, Jody, Sadie, Allison, Justine, and Casey have all been Pen Pal of the Month […]

  3. Pen Pal of the Month- May | Sincerely Kate - 05/10/2015

    […] the first time Allison has been my Pen Pal of the Month; she first received the honor in April of 2013. In that post I said how it’s been an absolute pleasure writing her, and though that was and […]

Leave a Reply

