Avenue Q

20 Jan

I think it has been well established that I’m a dork when it comes to pen palling. This afternoon Gabe and I will be seeing Avenue Q with my friend Krista and all I’ve been thinking about since getting the tickets in the mail is how to incorporate the show into a blog. And then it hit me: address labels. I’d include pictures of  mine along with the story below, but I’d prefer not to enclose my addresses for just anyone to see- sorry!

I didn’t use any address labels when I first got into pen palling. Sometime in 2006 my mom ordered me a set from vistaprint.com with geometrical shapes on it. They weren’t the cutest things, but what they lacked in style they made up for in convenience so I started keeping an eye out for some that were more Kate-friendly. I soon discovered I could add my own picture to labels and ordered myself a batch of those featuring yours truly all dolled up for a friend’s wedding.

It wasn’t until after my wedding a few years later that my OCD towards address labels kicked in. To celebrate my marriage and new home I ordered a “just married” batch that included my husband’s name, cute ones with the title “Mrs.” on them for my personal use *cough* pen palling *cough*, and another batch with a picture of me on it, this time from my own wedding.  When I knew birth announcements would be in our near future, I decided to splurge and have familylabels.com personalize a batch with the names and animated pictures of our whole family (Note: they called twice asking if both cats being named Snickers was some kind of typo, haha). In the two years that we lived in that little house I acquired an additional four kinds bringing my total of address labels for that place up to eight. EIGHT!

After a lot of address labels being acquired in vain, I made a pact with myself when we moved that I wouldn’t order more than two sets of labels; as soon as I was out of one set I could then order another. And let me tell you, it takes a great deal of self control not to buy more whenever I see a cute set in a catalog or get emails about special offers from vistaprint.com. I am just about out of the ones I got right when we moved to Fairgrove so the search for the perfect successor begins. There are several I’m interested in adding to my collection, and yes, I’m referring to these things as a collection. Instead of me debating about which ones are to grace my pen pals’ mailboxes next, I decided I will put it to a vote among my other readers- you! Following the sample pictures you will find a poll where you can submit your vote- please and thank you!

Here are the finalists:

Option 1 (AKA the cute, circular one)

Option 1

Option 2 (AKA the one with the colorful letters)

Option 2

Option 3 (AKA the one with the cupcake)

Option 3

(This is my first attempt at a poll so sorry in advance if there happen to be any technical difficulties.)

I will let you know what label won in my post on the 30th. And if you want to hear how Avenue Q was you can read about it in the comment section come 1/21/13. Until then!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

5 Responses to “Avenue Q”

  1. Sincerely Kate 01/20/2013 at 7:19 pm #

    Avenue Q Review:

    Gabe, Krista, and I all enjoyed the show. As a mother of an almost 2-year-old I am beyond familiar with Sesame Street so all the references &/or jabs to the TV classic made me as happy as Logan was whenever he saw Count Von Count. I wouldn’t be surprised if the writer of Avenue Q spent a lot of time watching Sesame Street with their own little one(s). There wasn’t a single bad song nor an unnecessary character, and the volunteers at the Midland Center of the Arts did the Broadway production justice. This R-rated puppet show gets an A rating from me. Sincerely, Kate ~!~

  2. emzmomma 01/21/2013 at 11:03 pm #

    I’m so jealous! I love Avenue Q! Glad you had a good time 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whose Line is it Anyway? « Sincerely Kate - 01/30/2013

    […] use my new labels once they arrive. I had a vote for what ones I would be ordering next in my blog Avenue Q and the winner is the one with the colorful letters. Well, that’s all for me. At least for […]

  2. Les Miserables | Sincerely Kate - 03/25/2014

    […] to incorporate the show I saw with the theme of my blog like I did for both Jekyll & Hyde and Avenue Q. I have become pretty good friends with a fellow blogger here on wordpress– you can find […]

  3. Hail the Snail #9 | Sincerely Kate - 09/01/2014

    […] labels came a couple days later. I ran out of “the ones with the colorful letters” from here a week or two back so that gave me an excuse to order […]

Leave a Reply

