SKuirrels Gone Wild

15 Jan

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, SKuirrels have gone wild. How did this happen?! And what the heck is a SKuirrel anyway?!

It all started when the I got the idea to create a small squirrel and have it be sent all over creation. SK + squirrel = SKuirrel. Upon its arrival the recipient would take a picture of the SKuirrel in a cute, funny, &/or clever way, upload it online, and send it to someone new. On December 31st this idea became a reality; the SKuirrel FB page was created and I got to work on 7 of these critters in addition to my prototype, taking pictures of mine throughout the process like the few below.

This project is still a little too little for there to be any FAQ, but here are the answers to some of the questions that I have been asked so far.

How did you get the idea for this concept?

A little known fact about me, I was planning to go into advertising when I was in high school. Every so often there is a commercial that catches my attention, but not in a “MUST. BUY. M&Ms.” kind of way- I simply just really like them. Despite not remembering what it was a commercial for (and therefore not being able to find it on youtube) there is one commercial that has stuck with me, and maybe it’s because I have Logan now. Synopsis: father to young child leaves on business trip, child gives father teddy bear to keep him company, father takes picture after picture of teddy bear throughout his travels (the last picture being from their driveway, aww), child receives pictures on the computer with the help of mother, they all live happily ever after. Yeah, part of me wishes I was that young child and now I can pretend that I am, haha; I love the idea of something traveling all over the place, but ultimately winding up back home.

Why did you pick squirrels?

It was not because SK fit into the beginning, that was and is just a happy coincidence. You may remember me mentioning my friend Nicole once or twice and well, one thing she has mentioned to me in the past was how she does NOT like squirrels. You know how some people try to take an inch and make it into a mile? Gabe and I can be like that when the mood strikes. For Christmas that year we sent her the first squirrel toy we could find, for her 23rd birthday I bought her a board game called “Sneaky Snacky Squirrels”, and the Christmas after that I sent her some squirrel version of yahtzee I found. Christmas 2011 she requested I write her a 500-word-story and so I did- you’ll never guess what it was about. I illustrated it and was rather proud of the squirrels. When I decided to do this project of mine, knowing Nicole was going to be my consultant throughout the process, anything other than squirrels wasn’t an option.

Oh, I feel obligated to tell you that when I first illustrated Nicole’s story last Christmas, I used this squirrel as part of my model, and I used it again for this project as well. Thanks, DLTK’s Crafts for Kids!

Do you plan on making another batch of SKuirrels?

If I was sane I would say no, but this is my actual answer: If/when the SKuirrels page on Facebook gets 30 likes I intend to make some more.

What would you change if/when there is another batch?

~While making the first group I kept saying how I’m going to draw one, scan it, use Paint to color it, copy & paste it several times, and then print those critters out.

~I will cut them before going to Staples so I don’t have to sit at their work station doing so, feeling like a dork even though I know I am one. By the way, learn from my mistake: Don’t think you’re making work easier for those who are supposed to make things easy for you; cut things out before having them laminated because if you try to do so afterwards, the seal will likely be broken.

~They will not be laminated as thick. I thought the more durable they were the better, but the plastic was so durable I had a heck of a time trying to cut it.

~I will number them so when someone uploads their photo they can include his number so we can see which SKuirrel has traveled where.

Got more questions for me? Simply leave ’em in the comments below and I will respond to them.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

5 Responses to “SKuirrels Gone Wild”

  1. nicole 01/15/2013 at 8:58 am #

    I so adore this project! My skuirrel will have to get more active,perhaps I shall take him to the doctor with my friday, lord knows ill have plenty of waiting time there! I have,of course, loved the squirrels over the last couple years! Kinley has taken an interest into sneaky snacky squirrels, lol! I also know and love the commercial you mentioned! Youd be excellent at advertising for a living, just think of all the things youve gotten me into! Im excited to watch this project of yours grow (: love ya!

    • Sincerely Kate 01/15/2013 at 11:21 am #

      I, of course, adore this project and and am excited to see this project grow, too, hehe. Thanks for your role in it all, pictures and otherwise 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 26 Letters- Birthday Edition | Sincerely Kate - 03/05/2013

    […] time two months ago I was beyond excited about my SKuirrels project and though a few people shared my enthusiasm at first, my prediction is that in another two months […]

  2. This Labyrinth I Roam | Sincerely Kate - 01/13/2014

    […] Around this time last year I made SKuirrels and now I’m making these Chick Magnets for my pen pals: 2. The first letters I received this […]

  3. Squirrels of Summer | Sincerely Kate - 05/25/2014

    […] upon a new year, specifically 2013, I got the idea in my head to make SKuirrels and send ‘em out into the wild, or at least to pen pals so they could take pictures of the […]

Leave a Reply

