Pen Pal of the Month- January

10 Jan

Welcome to the first blog of my 12-part series. I’ll introduce you to January’s Pen Pal of the Month in a moment, but first I’m going to tell you how I pick winners and what it is they win.

A perfect scenario would be selecting the first person who writes me each month, which is what I’m keeping my fingers crossed for. Note: No one is to win more than once and this series is to be posted on the 10th of every month. In the event I don’t hear from someone who has yet to win during the first week of each month, I will put the names of those I heard from the previous month (who still qualify) in a hat/bowl/whatever and draw a winner.

The winner will then be interviewed via Facebook messages for material like what you’re about to read. To reward all the winners, as well as thank them for their participation, I will send them little prizes like a personalized Sincerely Kate pencil and stickers.retired

And Kayla’s prizes are now on their way since she is SK’s very first pen pal of the month! *Throws confetti* I got Kayla’s newest letter on the 2nd of this month but I have been getting letters from her since October of 2010. We have a pen pal in common by the name of Casey and met in her Facebook group. Fast forward to January 3rd of 2013 when I sent Kayla a handful of questions to answer. This is what the 24-year-old had to say:

SK: How do you feel about being the first pen pal of the month?

Kayla: I think it is pretty awesome. I am honored (as cheesy as that sounds haha)

SK: When & why did you get into pen palling?

Kayla: I got into pen paling in middle school. I had just moved into a new school and everyone there had gotten pen pals in elementary school that they were still talking to. I wanted one too. So I went online (to a crediable site) and that is where I met Casey.

SK: What’s your favorite thing about pen palling?

Kayla: My favorite thing about pen palling would be having friends all over the place, and knowing that no matter what you say to them about your life they accept you for it. In some ways they can be a comfort to talk to, because the people who are giving you a hard time, they don’t know them. Also, it is nice to know that when you receive a letter in the mail it is something you are excited to read, rather than another bill you have to pay.

SK: What do you like best about having me as your pen pal?

Kayla: I love having Kate as a pen pal. She understands who I am as a person and listens to my problems. I love hearing about what is going on with her so many miles away. And I love the fact that she and I share many interests as well as introduce each other to new things.

SK: What is your favorite thing about January? What are you looking forward to this month?

Kayla: I love snow. I think snow is magical and I think that January is usually when we finally get to see some. I am looking forward to the start of new things. Of getting more of my wedding planned and receiving my first postcard from postcrossing (which Kate introduced me to). I’m also looking forward to see what 2013 is going to bring.

And she’s not the only one looking forward to what 2013 is going to bring. Tune in on January 15th for my blog “SKuirrels Gone Wild” and on the 10th of every month for new PPotM installments!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “Pen Pal of the Month- January”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Resolutions Revisited | Sincerely Kate - 06/30/2013

    […] to the 6th power. Kayla, Jody, Sadie, Allison, Justine, and Casey have all been Pen Pal of the Month […]

  2. Out With the Old… | Sincerely Kate - 12/30/2013

    […] Start a Pen Pal of the Month series. Check to the 6th power. Kayla, Jody, Sadie, Allison, Justine, and Casey have all been Pen Pal of the Month […]

  3. Pen Pal of the Month- October | Sincerely Kate - 10/10/2015

    […] honoree, she was the first person to ever be featured as Pen Pal of the Month on Sincerely Kate. Here is her interview from before, and below is her interview now […]

Leave a Reply

