Introductions

5 Jan

Sincerely Kate

You may be wondering why I’m posting a blog called “Introductions” when I’ve been blogging since September, but it’s a new year and this is among the lines of what I’d write to new pen pals, give or take a couple words &/or sentences and the random questions I usually add like “If you could have 50 pounds of anything, besides money, what would you choose?” The length may surprise you considering how I prefer long letters, but I usually don’t write too much in case things fall through with the potential pen pal. Stories about how I met Gabe and how I spend my days with Logan come later if they stick around long enough to hear ’em. So, without any further delay, here is my first blog of 2013! Happy New Year, by the way 😉

Dear potential new pen pal,

Greetings from a small little town in Michigan. I live here with my husband Gabe and our son, Logan. I am a stay-at-home mom so I have really taken a liking to pen palling over the past two years, but I’ve been writing letters since August of 2005. If you take me and my letters on you can expect long, chatty letters and a short turnaround- I usually respond to mail within a day or two of getting it.

So allow me to tell you more about myself. My name’s Kate (short for Kathleen) and until March 1st I’m 25-years-old. Not only am I the youngest of four but I’m the only girl, too. I like to think my brothers and I each have our fortes- Doug (34. Tampa, FL) is the history buff, Erik (33. Clearwater, FL) is the tech-savvy one, Tom (27. Ann Arbor, MI) is a human calculator, and I’m the girl who loves the fine arts, hence my love of writing. I have only recently decided I want a career in the English field so now I have to figure out what exactly that career is…

In the meantime, let me tell you about some favorite things of mine! Despite hating it until I was in high school my favorite color is pink and for some reason I am a fan of cows yet I eat more chicken than anything.

My favorite television shows are Glee and The Big Bang Theory, but I’m also a fan of Once Upon a TimeRevenge, The Vampire Diaries, and American Horror Story. Oh, and anything with Gordon Ramsay. As far as music is concerned, if the cast of Glee counts, I choose them as my favorite musicians since I listen to the soundtracks more than anything. If it doesn’t count, Kelly Clarkson is incredible and Lady Antebellum is pretty amazing, too- I’ve seen them both in concert.

I don’t read as much as I should. The last book I read was a gripping page-turner by the name of “ABC Look at Me”. If I had to pick a favorite book, it would be “He’s Just Not That Into You” by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo. The movie’s not too bad either, but I prefer “Alice in Wonderland” (both the animated classic and the Tim Burton film), the Star Wars movies, and movie musicals like “Phantom of the Opera”, “Rent”, and “Moulin Rouge”. Ewan McGregor has been my favorite actor (and celebrity crush) ever since I saw him in the latter… over a decade ago.

I hope your Christmas was a merry one. My son got more toys than he’ll ever know what to do with, but he was excited to get them all nonetheless.  Prior to having Logan I would have said my favorite holiday is Halloween, and though I still love it, Christmas has reclaimed the thrown it once held when I was a child. My son’s birthday is also in the winter (January 23rd) so it’s a fun time of year for me and my family. 

If there’s anything you want to know about me don’t hesitate to ask. Hope to hear from you soon!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

2 Responses to “Introductions”

  1. Deborah 01/05/2013 at 8:01 am #

    The last book I read was a gripping page-turner by the name of “ABC Look at Me”.

    I literally LOL’d when I read that. A fun post! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tricks of the Trade | Sincerely Kate - 07/10/2014

    […] situation, and share a bunch of my favorite things. It’s a bit outdated, but I posted an example at the beginning of last year. I will add questions throughout all my letters since A) it gives […]

Leave a Reply

