Tomfoolery

15 Dec

Tomfoolery. noun. [tom-foo-luh-ree]
1. foolish or silly behavior; tomfoolishness
2. a silly act, matter, or thing

I gave up on the term “best friend” a while ago, and sure enough it was around that time I connected with one of the best friends I ever had. Nicole and I had known each other for a while thanks to a mutual friend of ours, but the more we began to talk online and via text messages the more we had in common. And when I say “the more we had in common” it’s not just because it turns out we’re both anxiety-ridden, rather accident prone, and generous to a fault, but because she introduced me to Veronica MarsThe Vampire Diaries, and a large repertoire of music, and I got her into Glee, convinced her to try The Big Bang Theory, and got her into writing (even if it’s just to me). Nicole has become one of the people who knows me best regardless of us never meeting simply because our personalities are so similar, and if I had to use the term “best friend” I’d use it for her. Reason #487 I love that girl: she writes me letters just because she knows I love it so much. I’m sure it helps knowing that I’ll always respond, hehe.

Side note: My mom has been teaching in Taiwan for a few years now, and it was near the end of her first year at Ming Chuan University that I discovered I was pregnant. When she came home that summer she brought me several souvenirs including a couple thin notebooks, small enough to fit in my purse. Remember this, it’s kind of important.

At this point Nicole had become my confidant, and I the Kit Kat to her Nic Nac. After Gabe she was the first person I told when I found out I was pregnant and she was (and is!) the one person besides him I felt comfortable telling anything and everything to. I decided I would share one of my souvenirs with Nicole after using the notebook to share the events of my summer. I divulged my pregnancy experiences, vented about the matrimony madness when Gabe and I got married that July, and enclosed a bunch of other tomfoolery since I kept her notebook on me at all times.

A favorite quote of Nicole’s from that first notebook:

I sound like one of those people super-sizing my McDonalds meal and then ordering a diet coke!

Notebooks!Not that I expected her to hate it or anything, but Nicole loved that notebook as much as I enjoyed filling it out for her. With a little help from mother dearest I decided that I would start filling out a notebook for Nicole every summer, but I didn’t stop there; I sent Nicole another notebook for her 23RD birthday and included one in a care package I sent her after she banged up her leg last September. She has quite the collection right about now! (Note: one of the notebooks is not pictured)

More favorite quotes of mine of hers:

Lucky Charms for breakfast and leftover pizza for lunch. I am quite the gourmet chef.

Gabe and Logan are lounging on the floor with a bag of pretzels and Logan started feeding his daddy the pretzel sticks. At first it was just one at a time, but then he started feeding him by the handful.

3 souffles? Holy batter, batman.”

Apparently I write about food a lot, but she likes it and says we’re on the same napkin page. Reason #833 I love that girl: I just received a notebook from her. Reading it clearly makes me believe we have developed a language all our own, and proves to me that she’s just frickin’ awesome. She gave me permission to share some of her quotes as well:

  • “Crocodiles like candy canes so they seem all right to me!”
  • “I shall face the true death if I don’t leave in time to get coffee before work.”
  • “Happy Thanksgiving. I hope other than discussion of goat poop it’s been a good one.”
  • “Vampires shouldn’t sparkle, someone should tell the Cullens.”
  • “Silly 19-year-old, I’ve been playing games longer and better, elol.”
  • “Just as players gonna play, crazy bitches gonna be crazy!”

You may not understand what half of this stuff means, but at least now you know what tomfoolery is, right? Right!

I recently sent Nicole a postcard with this diabolical snowman below on it- he’s from the Pixar short “Knick Knack“… Knick Knack

…and when she got it she found the video and now I have even more reason to forever call her “Nic Nac”. 

Yeah, I may not use the term “best friend” anymore, but I think it’s safe to say I definitely have one anyway. Never underestimate the power of writing! Now if you’ll excuse me, I have another notebook to start working on for Nicole. Ciao!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

6 Responses to “Tomfoolery”

  1. Deborah 12/15/2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Glad I could help! More notebooks on the way soon! 🙂

  2. nicole 12/16/2012 at 1:29 pm #

    this was really special to read considering everything im dealing with right now, so it was really great timing, i knew your charming ocd would work in my favor one day. I love you to the moon, kate. Ill reply further when my world calms down a bit, but for now I wanted yoy to know I read it and loves it!

    • Sincerely Kate 12/16/2012 at 7:15 pm #

      I’m glad you loved it because I love you! All the best with everything- you’ll be getting another notebook from me soon enough! ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 26 Letters- Birthday Edition | Sincerely Kate - 03/05/2013

    […] when Nicole was hoping to visit in honor of our March birthdays. I will still post the sequel to Tomfoolery at some point this year since she still intends to come see us, and when I do you can expect to […]

  2. Nature vs Nurture | Sincerely Kate - 04/20/2013

    […] my pen pals’ letters, and use the pencil cases and whatever notebooks I don’t fill out for Nicole as prizes when rounds of SK trivia resume. Thank you, […]

Leave a Reply

