The Catalog Blog

10 Dec

Tis the season for lots of catalogs, fa la la la la… I started keeping track of the variety of catalogs I got after there were two days in October where I got at least four of them. Here’s that list in alphabetical order:

  • American Girl
  • Betty’s Attic
  • Bits and Pieces
  • Catalog Favorites
  • Collections Etc.
  • CP Toys
  • Current Catalogue
  • Figi’s
  • Hearth Song
  • L.L.Bean
  • Magic Cabin
  • Mindworks
  • Oriental Trading
  • PersonalCreations.com
  • Terry’s Village
  • The Lakeside Collection
  • The Lighter Side Co.
  • The Vermont Country Store
  • Victorian Trading Co.
  • Whatever Works
  • Wishcraft
  • Young Explorers

Rather remarkable, isn’t it? And 17 of them were in October alone! I’m sure it’s safe to say that the chaos started with Oriental Trading, and that one called Victorian Trading is just ridiculous 😛

If you omit the spaces and add “.com” to most of the titles above you can find their websites if you’d like to see what all they have to offer. Be warned though, should you order anything you may have quite the catalog collection yourself this time next year. (Allison, my September Sweeps winner, I hope me sending your prize directly from The Lakeside Collection’s website hasn’t resulted in any unwanted mail for you!)

You may be wondering if I’m annoyed by the abundance of glossy paper enticing me to buy stuff, but I’m not. On days where I don’t get any letters they’re a welcome distraction, and I often find something that catches my attention whether it’s the eyeball notepads I got for my pen pals, a remote control firetruck “Santa” could get for the Loganator, or a gnome nativity set I wouldn’t mind ordering for myself. A couple weeks ago my good friend Krista requested some gift ideas for me and when I couldn’t think of anything off-hand other than Home Depot gift cards, it was nice to be able to resort to my catalog of catalogs.

Yes, I’d much rather window shop via catalogs in the comfort of my pajamas than go store to store; just look at this holiday friendly gnome we found via Terry’s Village last year, hehe. Gnome Sweet Gnome

I hope this blog of mine finds you well, that your Christmas shopping has been going smoothly whether you go to stores or use catalogs and the internet like me, and that your holidays are happy ones.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “The Catalog Blog”

  1. nicole 12/10/2012 at 9:38 am #

    I looove the lakeside collection catalogs, but I haven’t heard of most of the others. I remember when I worked at cabelas we’d get a lot of calls either requesting catalogs to be mailed or requesting us to stop sending ’em, lol. You know a catalog Ive been flipping through the last couple weeks? The Swiss Colony. Yum!

  2. Allison 12/10/2012 at 11:29 am #

    Naturally the one I try to look up by adding .com to the end is one of the few that cannot be found in this manner. Wishcraft.com is pretty strange though.

    • Sincerely Kate 12/10/2012 at 12:14 pm #

      Were you able to find the site you were looking for or do you need my assistance? 🙂

Leave a Reply

