Thank You Notes

20 Nov

In honor of Thanksgiving I thought I’d say a few words about the pen pals I have who I’ve been so thankful for over the years.  I’m not going to use any names in the hopes that I’ve done each current pen pal of mine enough justice they can figure out which paragraph applies to them. The paragraphs are not in any specific order so please don’t think I like the people I wrote about first any more or less than those I wrote about last. And not to sound ungrateful, but I’m only going to acknowledge those I’ve heard from over the past six months and those who have written me more than three times.

~ I don’t hear from you as often as I’d like, but the length of your letters more than makes up for the lack of ’em- quality over quantity, right? I’m flattered you write me at all considering your schedule though, and I feel even more special because I’m the only person you write. I enjoy bouncing ideas off you as much as I enjoy seeing your own ideas come to life in your blog. You’re very creative and you inspire me to get creative, too.

~ You are the pen pal I hear from the most and it’s awesome being able to expect your letters like clockwork. I love that exchanging extra sheets of stationery has become a tradition of ours and that we have Glee in common. Actually, I talk to a few pen pals about Glee but because we write so often we’re able to talk about the show week after week and I look forward to that as much as the show itself.

~ My mom introduced me to a few potential pen pals from Ming Chuan University in Taiwan, but you’ve been the only one I’ve heard from throughout the year over the past couple years so thank you for that and thank you for showing my mom where to find cute, lined paper. I adore all the artwork you have enclosed with your letters and think they’ll look great hanging up in our family room. If you ever make it to the States you can see it for yourself 🙂

~ You are probably the pen pal I know the least about, mainly because we didn’t talk for over a year, but I’m glad you recently contacted me, wanting to start writing letters again. I hope you and that boyfriend of yours are happy at your new place and that you get a bunch of mail there too- and I don’t mean bills!

~ Sometimes it feels live I’ve been writing you for as long as I’ve been pen palling. I like that we never need letters to respond to for us to start writing each other- I even have a letter started for you right now, haha. I know you’d like to have more pen pals and I hope you’ll get them since you’ve been such a loyal pen pal to me over the years.

~ In case I haven’t congratulated you enough in the last couple letters I wrote you, congratulations on your engagement! Reading your letters has been like reading a book about your life and I’m so excited for the chapters about your wedding and trip to France. And the next installment, of course 🙂

~ For personal reasons you’ve given up pen palling, but there’s a part of me that’s keeping my fingers crossed that I haven’t seen the last of your colorful letters since we have been writing more years than you have dogs. All the best to you and yours; I hope you’re all doing okay!

~ As I thought about what I wanted to write about you, I considered how I’ve sent you shoes and a sweatshirt, how you got Logan his much-loved baby blanket, and how you are responsible for me finding three of my other pen pals. We may not write all the time, but everything else considered you’re still pretty fantastic!

~ We have known each other for years before we ever started writing to each other, and now your letters (and monthly postcards) are just one more thing I love about you. When it comes to my pen pals I’m an open book, but you are the one person I feel like I can really tell anything to and that means the world to me. Thank you for being such an amazing friend.

~ You and I met long before we added letters to our repertoire, and through a former pen pal of mine no less. You’re one of my favorite people and you writing me now only solidifies that. I hope we’ll be able to see each other again and that we’ll always stay in touch, letters or otherwise.

~ From the very first time I received a letter from you I considered you a favorite because I just love your chatty letters. I never told you this but I admire the heck out of you. You’re two months (to the day) younger than me yet so mature and independent. That fiance of yours is a lucky man, and I’m lucky to have you as a pen pal. Oh, and don’t be surprised if I try making my own envelope(s) sometime in the not so distant future, haha.

~ I don’t hear from you as much as I used to, but I know you and your husband have had a full plate and are hoping it gets even fuller soon. You deserve so much happiness because you have such a warm heart- so warm I find it funny you’re the one to introduce me to Revenge 😉

~ And out of all the pen pals I currently have, you’re the one I’ve been writing to the longest despite the state of FL trying to get in our way back in ’06, haha. Any time I see anything pirate-esque I think of you as well as any Geico commercials. You’re a lady I hold very near and dear to my heart and I hope we stay pen pals for many years to come, even when all the gel pens are dried out.

As you can see I’m thankful for all my pen friends for all sorts of different reasons, and I’d like to thank everyone who has written me over the years or read this blog over the past few months. Special thanks go to my mom for all the stationery she has acquired for me, to my husband for all his post office runs, and to my son for giving me so much to write about and being so behaved that I can write it.

The guys I’m the most thankful for

Happy Thanksgiving!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “Thank You Notes”

  1. Joycelyn 11/20/2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Very thoughtful and loving post, Kate. Your pen pals are lucky to have you. 🙂

  2. Nicole 12/04/2012 at 4:25 pm #

    How very sweet of you to take the time to do this. I’m thankful for you for many reasons. I really can’t wait to meet you, it feels like I’ve already known you forever!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thank You Notes ’13 | Sincerely Kate - 11/25/2013

    […] like last year I thought I’d say a few words about the pen pals I have who I’m very thankful for in honor […]

Leave a Reply

