The Notebook of an Obsessive Compulsive Pen Pal

20 Sep

I collect notebooks. And for virtually NO reason. I often love the cover so much that I don’t want to fill the interior with just anything. For example, I have a Wizard of Oz journal that will probably never be used unless I myself am not in Kansas anymore if you know what I mean. Yes, I have a collection of notebooks that seem to have been bought in vain. That is, with one exception.

I have a pink and white, spiral bound notebook that I use almost every day, a notebook I simply call my OCD Book.

The OCD Book in all its glory

It’s where I keep addresses and where I document which days I receive letters. 

I even keep track of the stationery I use.

But wait, there’s more! In the past I’ve kept track of birthdays and listed ideas of presents to send; I also wrote down questions I wanted to ask each month like “What’s your favorite thing about your mom?” in May and “Would you rather be buried alive or stretched to death?” in October. My most recent contribution is a page where I put one of each of my old address labels once the boys and I moved from Reese to Fairgrove.

Is this all necessary? Probably not. Will I keep using this notebook? Absotively Posilutely. If only I could be this organized with other aspects of my life…

13 Responses to “The Notebook of an Obsessive Compulsive Pen Pal”

  1. myriad234 09/21/2012 at 12:16 am #

    I’ve seen that in person! Great post! 🙂

  2. myriad234 09/21/2012 at 12:18 am #

    Hey! You should add a way for people to subscribe, so they (meaning ME) don’t have to go looking for it on the 10th, 20th, and 30th. 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 09/21/2012 at 1:57 am #

      I thought you “followed” it… I guess A) I don’t know the difference &/or B) how to allow subscribers.

  3. opicana 09/22/2012 at 11:11 am #

    Love it! I’m organized in other areas, but not with penpalling. I’d like to be though. Since your my only snailmail one, I’ve been thinking about making a binder dedicated to you…but thinking is as far as I’ve gotten. :p

  4. Joycelyn 09/22/2012 at 9:42 pm #

    Hi Kate. I listed your blog on my blogroll at http://givemeadaisy.wordpress.com/. Hope that’s OK. :). I really like yours so far.

  5. kdavisfanclub 03/07/2014 at 10:06 am #

    You are not alone! I have an obsession with notebooks and nice stationry and only recently (in the last few years) started filling them, somehow overcoming my weird compulsion not to open them. Now they are filling up, I love them even more, like precious treasures of personal literature. My favourites are the handmade ones I got from a market stall at the annual Victorian Fair in Worcester. Nice post, I followed the link from your mum’s blog (nice lady), her mention of your penpal obsession having piqued my intrest. Keep smiling and keep writing, best wishes from baldy 🙂

    • Sincerely Kate 03/07/2014 at 11:19 am #

      I’m glad you found your way over here. Sounds like we’re bit of kindred spirits. I still have a few notebooks I have yet to put anything in (and often wonder if I ever will), BUT the ones that I did think of something to put in are treasures, just like you said.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Method to Madness | Sincerely Kate - 05/25/2013

    […] have written about my “OCD book” before so I won’t write much about it now, but some of the things I made a point to keep track of […]

  2. 26 Letters- 100TH Blog Post Edition | Sincerely Kate - 02/05/2014

    […] one of my very first posts I said that I loved notebooks but rarely used the ones in my possession. I still have a handful of […]

  3. The Obsessive Storage of a Compulsive Pen Pal | Sincerely Kate - 02/25/2014

    […] have mentioned my “OCD book” before and how it’s where I keep addresses, make notes of when I got letters and the […]

  4. Happy Birthday to my Obsessive/Compulsive Daughter! | Container Chronicles - 03/01/2014

    […] asked, and other interesting (at least to her) tidbits. If you don’t believe me, check it out here. She held contests, she ran a Pen Pal of the Month […]

  5. Love Notes | Sincerely Kate - 02/15/2015

    […] The Day-Timer seems to be replacing my OCD book. Not only does it have a section for addresses, the calendar pages (1 week on 2 pages) have become […]

  6. Love Notes Revisited | Sincerely Kate - 03/15/2015

    […] Day-Timer seems to be replacing my OCD book. Not only does it have a section for addresses, the calendar pages (1 week on 2 pages) have become […]

Leave a Reply

