The Birth of a Pen Pal

10 Sep

I’ve been toying with the idea of writing a blog for a while now, but much like with my idea to write a best-selling novel, I’m not all that sure what I should write about. We’ve all heard the expression “write what you know” and anyone who knows me knows I’m obsessed with pen palling.

In high school I was always praised for my writing. My senior year was full of papers for English IV, Advanced Writing, Advanced Communications, and Forensics/Drama. While most students would grumble, I wrote my heart out, finding the silver lining in every assignment (and finding myself with the English award- WOOT!). I made a simple rice krispie treat tutorial snap, crackle, and pop; I got an A on a paper a page shy of the required length because what I did write did Henry VIII justice; I even wrote a short story where someone was nailed with a frying pan long before Tangled made it cool. I didn’t have any immediate plans for college when I graduated so come August I was really missing writing- I’m not ashamed to admit it.

At the time Myspace was the place to be so I decided to search for pen pal groups so the writing assignments would come to me. Once I found a couple groups I began looking for 50 pen pals, one from every state. While I might not have ever found 50 people to write to, I did find a bunch and from that moment on pen palling has been my favorite hobby. A perfect fit for the girl who has always excelled in writing.

I’m hoping writing this blog will become a treasured pastime as well and I’ll strive to post on the 10th, 20th, and 30th of every month. More than anything though, I hope my readers (like you!) enjoy this blog.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

4 Responses to “The Birth of a Pen Pal”

  1. myriad234 09/10/2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I like your heading. 🙂 The template looks like you. I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog. Thanks for sending it to me.

  2. Nicole 09/12/2012 at 8:54 pm #

    It’s excellent, Kate! I can’t wait to see you post more, I’ll definitely be staying tuned! You’re so witty. Can’t wait for you to be that best selling author!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Anniversary, Sincerely Kate! | Sincerely Kate - 09/15/2013

    […] To see the post that started it all, click here! […]

  2. It Comes with Love from Me to You | Sincerely Kate - 09/10/2014

    […] was exactly two years ago that I put up my first blog post here on Sincerely Kate. PHEW! I would have thought my interest in this would have fizzled out some […]

Leave a Reply

