For Some Odd Reason

31 Mar

For some odd reason two things have been popping up around the blogasphere: People either listing 21 things they irrationally love or 21 inconsequential things they hate. When I first introduced these Miscellaneous Mondays I mentioned that they’d be an opportunity for me to jump on the occasional bandwagon, so I figured I’d tackle both these lists this time around. I don’t know if it’s because I saw Animalopolis at the planetarium over the weekend or what, but I decided instead of just listing stuff I’d make up a couple poems. You’ve been warned, haha.

Things I Irrationally Love

Just 21 random things I love? How is a girl to choose?
There are so many things I adore and stuff I like to use.
Of course there’s gnomes and washi tape and my journals from Nicole.
Hearing Logan randomly say “I miss you!” is so good for my soul.
I love the Rocky Horror soundtrack and the Fifty Shades books;
I love the smell of gasoline and how my favorite mug looks.
Minions are awesome, as is my mailman rubber ducky.
When Emily sent me surprises I felt so thankful and so lucky.
There’s McDonalds’ breakfast, Howie Bread, Hot Fudge, and such.
I love how Logan says “you’re welcome” and that he says it so much.
I (kind of) want “Ye Who Wanders is Not Always Lost” as a tattoo,
And to keep watching cooking shows though cooking’s not what I do.
The Vampire Diaries and Phineas & Ferb are both an entertainment source.
Last, but not least, I love getting the mail, of course!

Inconsequential Things I Hate 

Making a list of stuff I don’t love was a harder thing to do.
Sure, I don’t like zombies or beer, and I hate black ice bunches, too.
But not too many things annoy me, or so that’s what I thought,
But once I thought a little more here was the list I got.
I hate to eat at Subway and almost every fruity dessert,
And in the winter I wish the snow would land just in the grass and dirt.
Put used paper plates in the trash, don’t use our driveway to turn around;
Squeaky carts need WD40 or else that’s the most obnoxious sound!
My post office isn’t open long and I’d prefer not to use banks at all.
My desire to go to the Gourmet Cupcake Shoppe in Bay City’s very small.
Lemon’s the only fruit candy flavor I care for and Crayola crayons are the only kind I’ll use.
Folding clothes and watching Special Agent Oso‘s my idea of abuse.
85% of Glee this season has been particularly bad,
And the thought of throwing any scrap paper away makes me sad.
I don’t like an international postcard costing as much to ship as a letter,
And if I could sleep in past the sun my mornings would be a bit better.
Buddy, the Cake Boss, saying “Mia Familia” has made me cringe,
But lucky for me none of these things have made me come unhinged.

For some odd reason I love those first 21 things, for another odd reason I don’t love the other 21, and for another odd reason the person who created these thingamabobbers loves the number 21, haha. I know the rhymes are far from perfect and the meter’s further still, but I hope the poems are something you enjoyed reading anyway.

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

4 Responses to “For Some Odd Reason”

  1. nerdinthebrain 03/31/2014 at 8:59 am #

    This is awesome! :D I also love the smell of gasoline and turn my nose up at fruity desserts. ;) And now I’m considering also jumping on that bandwagon…hmmmmm.

    • Sincerely Kate 03/31/2014 at 9:29 am #

      Strawberry shortcake is the only dessert with fruit I don’t mind. Chocolate combined with cherries or raspberries is an abomination as far as I’m concerned!

  2. randee 03/31/2014 at 12:05 pm #

    It would take me FOREVER to come with the 21 things, let alone put them into poetry, so kudos to you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

