150 Postcards and Counting

30 Mar

When I posted “50 Postcards and Counting” back in April of last year, I said that Postcrossing was an opportunity for me to travel the world without ever leaving my driveway. I felt the same when I posted “100 Postcards and Counting” several months later, and I still feel that way now. I absolutely love getting postcards from all over the world no matter if they’re from where someone lives, where they’ve traveled, or if they were purchased because they made the sender smile. I may love me some Alice in Wonderland cards more than anything (exhibit A and exhibit B), but I appreciate everything I’ve gotten and this blog is an exhibition of that.

Belarus

Not only did I get a postcard of an adorable little girl from the heart of Europe and one of a woman sitting on a sled, I got to see te city of Kobrin. The sender of the latter shared a favorite Alice in Wonderland quote with me: “Everything’s got a moral, if only you can find it.”

Bulgaria

I got this postcard from Bulgaria, obviously, and is it just me, or are these girls way too little to be so concerned with their weight? :-P

866ca7c9d918b98af153c51bbe6ddfe7

China

I got to see three beautiful views– one was of a back road and seemed to have a vintage vibe, and the other two showed boats and lakeside homes and/or buildings. The one taken at nighttime was especially gorgeous.

Czech Republic

I have no idea how to do all the accents, so bare with me as I tell you I received a multi-view postcard from Lamek Kromeriz. This postcrosser told me to live long and prosper, so that was pretty neat :-P

Finland

I may never get to see the Aurora Borealis in person, but at least I’ve been fortunate enough to see it via postcard(s)! I also received a cartoon featuring a kid with a messy room and on another postcard, one that featured an illustration of a bunny, I was told that the secret of happiness is the closeness of a good friend.

Germany

In addition to seeing things like a  TV tower, an oriental garden cottage, and a couple fun illustrations, I learned that Frankfurt is the 5th largest city in Germany and got to play a snowman version of Where’s Waldo.

Great Britain

Someone from GB sent me a postcard with the castles of Scotland on one side and the following quote on the other: “Happiness is not something ready made, it comes from your own actions.”

Hong Kong

This postcard got an honorable mention in my last Wonderland-friendly post, but it’s still worth sharing again as I think it’s pretty wonderful ;-)

Tungit from Hong Kong

India

Apparently they really like statues in India. One postcard I received featured a statue of Gangaikonda Cholapuram and the other showed the two sculptures that overlook the Dona Paula Bay.

Indonesia

The view from here was one of a rice field along the Ayung River.

Malaysia

I received an adorable illustration of a deer. The sender apparently really likes ‘em so I’m a bit surprised she wanted to part with the postcard. Not that I’m complaining ;-)

Netherlands

I got a variety of postcards from The Netherlands. There was an amazing shot of Harlem, samples of the Delftware tiles (made in Delft, of course), and one was an illustration of a girl and an owl that had additional illustrations added to it courtesy of the postcrosser in honor of Halloween.

Poland

There once was a poet from Poland… Yeah, the postcard I received from there was a statue of the guy– Aleksander Fredo.

Portugal

Looks like a multi-view from a cemetary. My pen pal Justine would totally approve.

Romania

Despite the postcard coming from Romania, it was actually from the Congo over 40 years ago. I wonder how much the view of the beach has changed…

Russia

The most postcards I have received out of the past 50 have come from here, not that I’m surprised. In addition to the one of Alice having a tea party, my postcards from here feature a bird’s-eye view of the Obvochy Canal Embarkment, a view of some building that looks important but I can’t decipher the name of it, a typical Russian window, the Campa Samara theater, a basket of raspberries, reindeer that were bred in Mongolia, and another one that makes me think of Alice as it’s a girl next to a jar of strawberry jam that’s bigger than her, haha.

Taiwan

I got a few postcards from here, but not nearly as many as I have to send thanks to Mother Dearest :-P The ones I got include a cartoon kitty that looks like he may be part of a cartoon on TV, a postcard from Sun & Moon Lake, an amazing view of Taipei, and even a view from Venezia.

Ukraine

One postcard I recieved from here was a landscape that was painted, another featured a bit of a winter wonderland, and then there were these cute love birds:

10156910_10201992463762338_1143190080_n

United States

This Michigan girl received postcards from the following states: Arizona (2), Illinois, Utah, and Michigan, too.

I may not send a lot of postcards via postcrossing because of how much the postage adds up, but I do still like that the site exists so I can do it at all. If you don’t participate already, you should check it out and see the variety of places you get to see from the comfort of your own home :-)

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

2 Responses to “150 Postcards and Counting”

  1. nerdinthebrain 03/30/2014 at 12:11 pm #

    I like how you broke things out by country…very cool to read that way. :) I’m jealous of your Romania and Bulgaria scores! I don’t think I’ve ever gotten cards from either country…even with past postcrossing accounts. Just the other day, I did get a card from Australia for the first time ever! You’ve inspired me to start posting more about postcrossing. I’ll put some of my favorites so far up soon. :D I can’t wait to read your “200 Postcards” post. :D

    • Sincerely Kate 03/30/2014 at 1:05 pm #

      I am so glad to hear you like how I broke it down; as I was adding to it I was wondering if people would like to see the cards more and me talk less, but I decided to keep rolling with what I’ve done in the past. It makes me happy to know you’re a fan and that you’re going to start having more postcrossing friendly stuff on your own blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

