For Your Viewing Pleasure

25 Oct

imageedit_17_8276308506I saved this post until now for a couple reasons: 1) because I wanted to include what I thought about all the premieres I was looking forward to in one post instead of in several, and 2) because now if I spoiled anything it’s your own fault for not watching any of the following by now, haha.

You may be wondering why I’m talking about TV on a blog that revolves around my pen pal hobby, but hardly a letter goes by where I’m not talking about a show so it’s time they got some recognition here as well. And much like how I’d talk to a pen pal, I’ll share how I became acquainted with each of the shows as well as my opinions on the first episodes of the new seasons in the order they aired.

I watched Nashville on a whim last year. I  liked Connie Britton in the first season of American Horror Story and haven’t seen Hayden Panettiere in anything I haven’t enjoyed (yet) so mix them with some music and you have yourself a pilot I’ll sit down to watch. Although I was never blown away by the show, usually catching up on episodes every couple weeks, the finale made sure I’d be watching again this fall. I thought the premiere of the second season lived up to the expectations everyone had for the show. Some things might not have happened the way I would have liked them to, but 1) it’s only the second season so there’s still hope for the couples I ship and 2) the writers haven’t left out anything like Glee did so I definitely appreciate that aspect! I probably won’t watch this season as the episodes air, but I’ll be watching it whenever that country mood strikes.

Thanks to a website that constantly streamed TV shows and movies, I stumbled upon The Big Bang Theory sometime after the second season wrapped up and I was/am so glad I did. I got hooked that day and I’ve been hooked ever since. One might think the show would go stale long before its seventh season, but I have yet to be disappointed. The cast, whether they’re from the beginning or joined several seasons later, all compliment each other and deliver the lines as if they’re really those people. There’s not a character who doesn’t belong on the show or an episode that hasn’t made me laugh out loud, the season seven premiere included.

I have been a fan of Glee since the pilot aired for the very first time. I watched it religiously, listened to the music faithfully on the iPod shuffle I had reserved just for the covers, and talked to anyone and everyone about this glorious show I was gleeked out on. Unfortunately, the show has gone down hill over the past couple seasons. I was (and am) one of the fans who thought it should have just ended on a high note back in season 3 since most of the characters were graduating. (There are a lot of things I think Glee should have done, but this is not the time or place for that list!) Even though I think the show should have ended a while ago, I am going to continue to watch it until it ends for real. Although we’re only a couple episodes into the fifth season, Glee has already been picked up for a sixth, and now that I’ve seen this season’s premiere I can tell you that I think that is a mistake. I feel as though the writers are out of ideas, or that the few ideas they do have mess up the continuity of the show. For example, they wanted Ryder around to be in the Beatles’ cover “I Saw Her Standing There”/ be a potential candidate for Tina to take to prom so they completely forgot that in the season 4 finale that he was going to quit the glee club after what Wade/Unique put him through. Granted, Ryder is my favorite of the characters introduced last season, but it annoys me that they didn’t address it. I hate the fact that unlike the other seasons, this one didn’t start at the beginning of the school year, so things like Artie and Kitty’s relationship suddenly intensifying seems really out of left field to me. I can go on, but I think I made my point. This season doesn’t look like it’s going to live up to the ones before it, and it’s because the writers refuse to try anymore, in my opinion.

I have been watching MasterChef before becoming a mother, so between that and now having a little guy who plays in his little kitchen on a regular basis, I was definitely intrigued by MasterChef Junior. These kids were amazing; the 12 we saw at the end of the premiere all could put most of the adults who have competed before to shame. They are these 8-13 year-olds who are making these extravagant dishes that I never would have touched when I was their age, let alone tasted. I’m definitely curious to see what these kids are going to do next and what Logan’s going to be up against in 6 years ;-)

Once Upon a Time is such a creative show, so much so that I wish I would have thought of it or something like it, haha. The second season wasn’t as good as the first, but I still liked it, especially since we found out who Henry’s dad is. When I first watched the premiere for the third season it reminded me so much of the beginning even though it was different at the same time. I love that the main characters are now in Neverland and that this Neverland is unlike any other I’ve seen before it. It’s so creepy but so intriguing, like how the show ended with the Lost Boys ganging up on Henry and Peter Pan saying “Let’s play!” (see the final scene here). Again, so creepy but oh so intriguing! Out of all the premieres back in September this one was my favorite. Did I mention that liked how Henry’s dad is around now? Hehe.

The third season of Revenge is the one I was the most excited for after the finales last spring since Emily revealed to her childhood sweetheart that she was the real Amanda Clarke, Nolan was arrested, and Victoria’s first-born, Patrick, showed up at her doorstep. It was all rather epic. I wouldn’t say the premiere wasn’t what I was expecting, but nothing that I wanted to occur happened. I thought Patrick would be too pissed off about his history to go horseback riding and whatnot with his mother, that Nolan would spend some of the season in prison until Emily could get him out, and that Jack would join forces with Emily instead of giving her an ultimatum. This season may not have started the way I would have liked, but considering this is the last one I’m confident it will come to a satisfying conclusion.

My friend Nicole is responsible for introducing me to a lot of things I now love, and one of those things is The Vampire Diaries. I put off watching it for a while because I was convinced it would be a Twilight rip-off, but Nicole assured me there was more to this series than a lion falling in love with a lamb. The season 5 premiere, for example, had two vampire friends going off to college where their roommate was killed by another vampire, an immortal doppelgänger searching for another doppelgänger who used to be a vampire, and there are some gypsies travelers around now, too. The premiere seemed to have a little too much going on, but as the season progresses nothing feels unnecessary… minus Bonnie, but I never liked her :-P

The Originals is a spin-off of The Vampire Diaries, and though I was never too crazy about the “first family of vampires” on the original series, between a first look last spring and the pilot this fall, Niklaus and his siblings have finally grown on me. They went from being adversaries who just would NOT go away to a family that’s up against odds like extraordinary witches and a girl being pregnant with Klaus’ hybrid child. I especially like Rebekah more this time around since there’s more to her now than just being a thorn in Elena Gilbert’s side. I also like the witches in New Orleans more than the obnoxious one back in Mystic Falls who just needs to leave the show (Bonnie’s already dead after all!) SO! While this show definitely has its perks, I do think you need to be a fan of The Vampire Diaries to appreciate ‘em.

The season premiere of American Horror Story did not disappoint. I love how each season is a completely new story line and Coven looks like it will live up to the stories that came before it. Jessica Lange has been perfect in each of the rolls she has been given over the past three years, and should there ever be a season without her that will be the show’s downfall. I’m glad Taissa Farminga is back after being gone during Asylum and I think Kathy Bates and Angela Basset are both welcome additions to the show– I can’t wait to see what they’re all going to brew up!

I have seen bits and pieces of Once Upon a Time in Wonderland thanks to an assortment of promotional clips, but the clips, however great, didn’t do the premiere justice. A lot of graphics could have been better, but the story was solid, living up to both the Wonderland franchise and the original Once Upon a Time series. Well, minus the Cheshire Cat. I know the creators want to put their own spin on characters, but that was ridiculous… and not in a good way ;-) At least Alice is as epic as ever– maybe even more so. I think it’s going to be a great season; like the rabbit said at the beginning of the next episode, Alice’s greatest adventure has just begun.

If you watched any of these shows I’d love to hear what you thought; you can also tell me if there’s a show I should also be watching this fall. Happy viewing &/or blogging!

Sincerely, Kate ~!~

3 Responses to “For Your Viewing Pleasure”

  1. Deborah 10/30/2013 at 1:03 am #

    Wow! I got to this by Googlng Sincerely Kate! Awesome! :-)

  2. jannatwrites 11/03/2013 at 9:12 pm #

    I am totally into Once Upon a Time, too. I am a bit creeped out by the evil Peter Pan, but I’m rooting for them to rescue Henry. (Disney made Peter Pan seem all nice and friendly, but this one, oh, he’s what nightmares are made of :))

    • Sincerely Kate 11/04/2013 at 7:39 am #

      I couldn’t agree more! In every “Peter Pan” rendition I’ve seen Hook has been the bad guy, and though he’s no saint in OUAT I definitely feel as though the rolls have been reversed. It’s rather refreshing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

